A proud history

The Riverina Anglican College is a thriving, dynamic, forward-looking community that learns and lives according to the motto: Strength through Faith and Knowledge. Learning is enhanced beyond the classroom with camps, cocurricular opportunities and service learning experiences. The Riverina Anglican College aims to prepare students for a life of dedicated service in society; locally, nationally, and globally. The Riverina Anglican College provides an engaging and supportive learning environment that encourages excellence in all endeavours.


Established in January 1999 with an intake of 25 Year 7 students, and a part-time staff of three, supporting the full-time Principal.

The College developed as part of the New Schools policy of the Anglican Diocese of Canberra and Goulburn. An Organising Committee for an Anglican School in Wagga had been in operation since the early 1990s. A public meeting in April 1998 rekindled efforts. The Bishop of the Diocese, Bishop George Browning, spoke to an enthusiastic crowd of over a hundred and twenty and the Organising Committee, now under the Chairmanship of Mr. Neil Stubbs took new heart. A Riverina Anglican College Ordnance was passed through Synod and the Committee, in a step of faith, advertised for a College Principal.

Dr Ian Grant secured the position of Foundation Principal and arrived in Wagga with his wife, Michelle and family in August 1998 to commence work on enrolments and curriculum. An Education Sub Committee of the newly titled Board of the College was formed under the leadership of Mrs Lorna Ireland. Much valuable work had been completed on the educational programs for the College in the months before Dr Grant’s arrival. At the same time the Board sub committee on Building and Works under the leadership of Mr Peter Davies had located a suitable block of land on Farrer Road Wagga. The fourteen hectare block was purchased and the architectural company Noel Bell Ridley Smith and Associates was employed to produce a design.

The Board of the College met weekly over the next months working feverishly on the hundreds of details required to be met before opening. Mrs Patricia Oliver organized the uniform as well as the temporary establishment of the College at Charles Sturt University’s South Campus. Mr Charles Houen provided astute legal advice and Mr Keith Wheeler oversaw the release of publicity details. Mrs Helen Wotsko assisted in the accountancy establishment. The new Rector and Regional Bishop, Bp. Godfrey Fryar, provided support and liaised with the Anglican officials in Canberra. As a result of the hard work the College was able to open at the South Campus on 28 January 1999. In July the school was able to move into the Stage 1 Building on Farrer Road. 

Consolidation Stage

In 2002, the Board of the College identified the move beyond the establishment stage to the consolidation stage. Mr Andrew Bowcher had joined the Board in November 2000 bringing vital accountancy experience. Under the strong leadership of Mr Neil Stubbs strategic planning days were organised and a new sense of direction was developed. Extensive building programmes were undertaken each year.

Over the next years a substantial enrolment surge saw the Board recalculate the estimated size of the school from 280 to 600 students by 2009. In 2002 the College had 165 students spread between Year 7 and Year 10. In 2004 the first group reached Year 12. In 2012 there were 605 students enrolled. 

The increased enrolment allowed the Board to appoint a Business Manager in 2004, Mrs Lynda Miller, as well as increasing the size of the teaching and administrative staff.

A regular Activities Week programme witnessed overseas tours as well as adventure based activities. The first Silver Award in the Duke of Edinburgh Scheme was obtained in 2005 and the first Gold Awards in 2008. Students complete their theory work in a specifically designed Environmental and Outdoor Science elective. More recently the end of year program has embraced a service philosophy in which all students 7-10 are provided with opportunities to give back to the local community.
Building Programs

In 2003 the Mathematics and Food Technology/Drama buildings were constructed. The school oval was developed through 2004 and opened in 2005 and the library and gymnasium were both opened in 2006. The Design and Technology Centre was opened in early 2009 and in September 2012 the Music and Drama building was opened. In 2019 a state of the art STEM building was added to the Eastern side of the campus. Over the next three years the building focus shifted to the development of the Junior School. Buildings 1 and 2 were opened in 2021 and 2022 respectively, with the third Junior School building to be opened in late 2023. Redesign of the front of campus parking and bus lanes have also commenced and will conclude towards the end of 2023. An 18 classroom HSIE building will also commence in late 2023 for opening in 2024.
Academic Growth and Focus

Academically the College has enjoyed great success. Excellent results in the nationwide Academic Competitions were supported by outstanding successes in the School Certificate and Higher School Certificate examinations. In 2018 TRAC was classified as an International Baccalaureate World School, with the excellent results of the 2020 cohort in the Diploma Programme supporting this transition to a different style of learning. In combination with the Primary Years Programme in the Junior School, the approaches to learning and learner profile of the International Baccalaureate have become a cornerstone of teaching and learning at the College. We are proud of the three academic streams provided in Stage 6, including the Higher School Certificate, Higher School Certificate Non-ATAR stream and International Baccalaureate Diploma Program. Each stream ensures the College provides a holistic, student-centred experience that continues to produce outstanding students ready to take their place in broader society.